Flowers, that is…

They surprised us with their presence. 

I asked Fran ” Did you plant Sunflower seeds?”

and he said ” No, I thought that you did.”

We realized then, that they must have been dropped down by some birds traveling overhead.  

Im so glad that they took the path over our home.

Late July saw them flower.

Late August they began to wilt and seed.

Almost ready to harvest.

And last night…

 Fran took one head and stripped it of it’s seeds.  They were ready to fall for the birds, but now they lie on a baking sheet.

Ready to roast.

And then to eat, by me and my friends.

********************************************************************

We will have a ton of seeds, so if anyone would like some, I’d be glad to share.

Let me know and I’ll gladly mail them out to any of my friends.

 *********************************************************************

In case you wanted a recipe….here is the one that I’m trying out.

Roasted Salted Sunflower Seeds Recipe

Ingredients: 1 cup Sunflower Seeds
2 quarts Water
l /2cup Salt

Note: For salt free sunflower seeds, rinse seeds and go straight to step # 7.
Preparation Directions:
Add water and salt in a pot or saucepan.
Rinse sunflower seeds and remove any plant and flowerhead matter.
Add sunflower seeds.
Bring water to a boil, then turn down to simmer.
Simmer 1 to 1/1/2 hours.
Drain on a paper towel until dry. Do not rinse.
Preheat oven to 325 degrees.
Spread seeds on a cookie sheet and bake for 25-30 minutes.
Stir frequently.
Remove from oven when they turn slightly brown.

