For those of you that are vegetarians or are afraid of butter you may want to skip this post all together.

But for those brave souls that are up for a decadent dinner, follow me.

To paradise.

A dinner so scrumptious, that it didn’t even make it’s way into the refrigerator to be qualified as a leftover.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

When I was a little girl, one of my favorite things that my Mom would cook for us was her Shepard’s Pie.

Traditional Shepards Pie is made with ground lamb and either peas, carrots, or both with a layer of mashed potatoes on top.

My mom’s recipe (although I have put a bit of my own spin onto it) is a variation on the traditional Pie.

It is tastier than tasty and is layered like a yummy cake of savory.

Recipe

Brown the following ingredients together in a Teflon pan.

1 1/2 lbs of lean ground beef.

1/2 onion.

2 cloves of garlic, crushed.

Sprinkling of salt, pepper, basil, thyme, sage, rosemary, parsley,oregano, mint (the last 7 were all together in a seasoning grinder called “Country Herbs”).

Drain off excess oil and set aside to rest.

Boil 1 bag of frozen sweet corn, drain well and set aside.

Peel and cube 3 large russet potatoes.

Boil until fork tender and drain.

Place potatoes in a bowl and mash with a hand masher.

Here comes the most important part….

Mix in 1/2 cup of butter and a splash of milk.

Now for the layering…

I use a shallow stoneware casserole dish that was a wedding gift, it cooks so evenly and doesn’t burn like I have found glass to during past attempts at making this.

Here are the layers, bottom to top.

Meat

Corn

Potatoes

and the cherry on top….a sprinkling of finely shredded mixed monterey/cheddar cheese.

Bake in a 400′ oven until cheese is browned and potatoes begin to rise like a souffle.

Then and only then, may you dig into the deliciousness which is Shepards Pie.

I send my regards to your arteries with this one.

But seeing my little boy gobble it up by the spoonfull at the end of his first day of Kindergarten made me even more aware of the reason that they call it…

Comfort Food.

