NOW COMMENCES THE VENT EXTRAORDINAIRE

*********************************************************************************************************

I am going to pretend that our vacation ended 2 days ago.

The wheels have officially fallen off.

Yesterday Fran and my morning was spent arguing and then attempting to regain the good times that we were having the previous 6 days by bringing Eben to the zoo.  Which was really very nice, but basically the only nice part of the day in regards to me and Fran. Afterwards, the guys went to some wharf or something while Emily and I had gone into Kittery to the outlets. On our way home, Em CASUALLY told me that we were going to have to….

“Clean like CRAZY tomorrow.”

Apparently you have to pay for cleaning of the rental house ahead of time…..WHAT?!?!?!?!?!?

Well, I was NOT going to spend my final morning of vacation cleaning!

So as soon as we got back to the house, I got to work.

In typical Julia fashion I huffed and puffed and stomped around the house sweeping and spraying and wiping with Emily.

Oh, and did I mention the sighing…..there was a whole lot of that mixed in too.

FINALLY, Fran came in and started helping, he told me to go get some wine and he would finish the rest ( in other words… go get tipsy so that I don’t have to listen to your huffing, puffing, stomping, and sighing.)

No such LUCK pal.

After we had overhauled the kitchen and officially declared it off limits we all went out for a really nice dinner…REALLY YUMMY.  Then we returned home to settle the baby and Eben into bed and then we rounded out the evening  arguing over what time to leave the next day….

I pretty much wanted to leave as soon as the sun rose, but Fran wants to drag it out, go to the beach, go find more shells,and get some souvenirs.

SO, here I sit at 7am on the day that we are leaving for home, stewing over the fact that Fran has gone for a walk on the beach in the POURING rain  and I can’t even pack the car because he has the keys.

*********************************************************************************************************

You know the saying, ” She lost her top.”

Well, for the past 6 days the top of my pressure-cooker-internal-TOGETHERNESS-meter has been slowly and quietly shaking.

Yesterday was just enough for it to totally lose it’s cool.

SERIOUSLY, I LOST IT.

I don’t know if I’ve told you this, but I am a very solitary person.

Independent

Self sufficient

Introverted.

Call it what you will, but claustrophobia and I do NOT make good bed fellows.

So, with that said, I am highly anticipating the return home.

I miss my cats.

I miss MY family.

I miss my sewing machine.

I miss my bed.

I miss MY car.

I miss my alone time, which was ever so fleeting at home, but even more prevalent that it has been here in Maine.

*********************************************************************************************************

Thanks for listening to me.

I’m sure I will miss this time greatly looking back on it in the future.

But, you see,  I seem to have a one track mind right now.

And at the moment, the direction that it is pointing me in is HOME.

