Being that today is Sunday and even though I am the furthest thing from religious; I thought that it was time to come clean about something…

Getting down on my knees in front of all of you Blogging/Baker/Mama Gods out there.

“Forgive me Mamas……for I have lazed.”

 

“I made apple bread……………….. ”

 

“from a box.”

*Gasp* the horror.

I hear you snickering.

There, I said it.

“Now, how many Hail Marys do I owe you?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

You see, my theory to this is that when Laura and I were born….I received the cook genes from our mom and Laura got the baker genes.

Luckily, we both share the sewing genes.

Lauras chocolate walnut toffee bars....from scratch.

Laura's chocolate walnut toffee bars....from scratch.

Laura makes delicious yeast rolls from scratch, pie crust that literally melts in your mouth, and the most amazing cookies and cobblers that I have ever had.

I, on the other hand am content to cook.  Luscious noodle dishes with creamy sauces, roasted veggies, grilled fish, and hearty soups.  Happily, I married a true Adirondack’er, who would live off of nothing but meat,  milky/buttery potatoes, and a side of veggies for the rest of his life.

I love baked goods just as much as the next premenstrual maniac…what is better than doughy, sweet, sugary goodness.  And I love adore crusty bread far more that I even love my husband.

Kidding on that last one.

It’s not that I haven’t tried to bake…it’s just that I don’t have the patience for it.

I am seriously that girl……the one that puts ONE gigantic chocolate chip cookie in the oven, just so I don’t have to wait the 8 minutes to switch out the cookie sheets. And don’t even get me started on waiting for dough to rise for a loaf of bread, just so that I can punch it in the face and then let it rise all over again!

Cooking though, to me, it’s a constant.

Constantly stirring, adding, draining, tasting, until it is time to eat.

And then I can eat it right away….there is no waiting for it to cool, or watching it deflate before my eyes while sitting on the counter.

I am going to be the mom who sends Eben in with a plate of Oreos for a bake sale.

I know….Poor kid.  (I’ll let you know the bake sale dates as the school year progresses, in case you want to ship some hand made goodness so as not to humiliate my poor Kindergartner.)

PS.

 

the bread was delicious.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

So, what would you rather do; bake or cook.

What is your specialty dish?

