When my head hit the pillow last night, it was full with intentions of getting oodles of projects done.

OODLES.

I woke to a husband who wanted to take a shower together.

Well, Umm, yes.  Thanks.

But then he went to work….and I found myself snuggled up in bed with my fleece blankets, armed with my clicker for emergency channel changing.

The boys were up, occupying themselves nicely with playing with their V-smile and action figures in their room.

It’s SO great that they are old enough to be trusted (well, mostly).

Now, if only they could make breakfast, sweep, mop, and change over the laundry to the dryer.  Because those are the ONLY things that I rose from the bed to do.

I literally made eggs and toast…got back in bed; vacuumed…got back in bed;  filled drink cups…got back in bed.

You get the picture, don’t you?

Then and only then, at 12:45pm, did I rise from my nest of blankets to actually partake in the world around me.

While the boys were visiting with my brother in law, I went to the bank and to the Adirondack Yarns.  You see, I have taken photos for  This cute little knitting store and set up a Facebook site , a fair exchange for the owner selling my knitting needle wraps.  I wanted to see if they needed a restocking.  While there, I picked up a size 10 circle needle and coincidentally was smacked with the fact that I haven’t picked up my own knitting in a LONG time… the last time I did, it was to knit my Pa a hat when he was in the hospital.

What?  That was a month ago.

Seriously? How is that possible?

I hi-tailed it back to the house and dusted off my knitting books.

I poured over them for a new project.  For the life of me though, I couldn’t find a THING that I wanted to make.

NOTHING.

I feel as if I’ve been so consumed with sewing lately, that I have forgotten about the thing that rekindled my creativity.

And then, just as my FUNK peaked for the day… Fran pulled up in his Tacoma.   I ran outside and yelled over my shoulder as I jogged to the end of the driveway that…

I needed to go for a walk and oh yea…… thanks for watching the boys while I do that.

I walked up the road to the horse barn and then down to the river.  I passed by my house, waving a my husband who was sitting in a chair, watching the boys play baseball.  I think he thought that I was coming back to the house, but my feet just wouldn’t turn that way.

I walked on, towards the river.

To my spot, on a flat rock at the edge of the easy rapids and sat.

I realized that this is what I had needed all along.  A bit of reflection and time to myself.

Then I walked back up the hill to my boys.  Still playing baseball and some how even cuter than I had left them.

Including the big one.

So now I sit in my corner of the couch with a green apple woodchuck (the beer that you must buy and drink immediately),  prepared to peruse Ravelry ( the site I’ve been neglecting ) and find a new project .

Waking my sleeping bear’s knitted butt.


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

So, tell me…..What are on your needles?

