My only remaining grand parents live 2 house up the mountain from where I grew up.  They are my fathers parents and moved to the mountain in the 50’s, before my dad (the first of 5) was born.  They bought 30 acres after moving from their respective cities of Mamaroneck and Niagara Falls……. and NEVER looked back.

One day last year I was sitting at their dining room table with my Pa. We were having a little snack when I saw him looking at something; he was smiling.

I followed his gaze and discovered the object of his attention…..My Gram.  She was obliviously busy, straightening the living room.

So I asked him the question that had been on my mind several times over my lifetime…One that you only have certain opportunities to ask with out sounding like a young whipper-snapper.

I asked him what he saw when he looked at Gram, after 50 some odd years together.

He thought about it for a bit; never breaking his gaze, or his grin.

And what he said will stay in my head….. always.

” I see the girl that I first met.  She is the most beautiful girl in the world.”

Gram

I had to blink away the tears that filled the backs of my eyes.

And I thought in my head…..

“I’m sure that she would say the same.”

Pa

Pa

I love them both………. dearly.

