I live on a dead end road that is about 7 miles long. Our house is 1 mile into it. Not too far, but definitely far enough. I call it my home away from home. I grew up on a mountain with only sparse, wonderful relatives as neighbors. Streams and 30 acres were my backyard, trails for walking and riding dirt bikes galore. I miss it so much, but I am so happy with the property that we have.

When we leave our house we have two choices; Left or Right.

Left

Right

Right

To the left, 1/8th of a mile is a river that runs through the town. A short walk and we are there.

The River

The River

To the right, 1/4 mile walk is a gorgeous barn and 3 beautiful horses that are owned by the family that my dad has worked for since he was in his 20’s.

The barn

The barn

I have a hard time deciding which way to go usually, the peace of the running water, or the humor of watching the horses trying to peak through the hair that masks their faces.

Today I chose RIGHT. (since the river is frozen and snow covered)

I took some shots of the horses; munching away at their breakfast and TOTALLY unimpressed by by presence.

I call her Blondie

I call her "Blondie"

Brownie  The least hairy of the three.

"Brownie" The least hairy of the three.

My favorite by far.

My favorite by far.

Blondie is the most fearless when we visit.

Blondie is the most fearless when we visit.

Could he be any cuter?!?!?!?

Could he be any cuter?!?!?!?

On my way home, walking away. (Dont they look heart-broken to see me go?)

On my way home, walking away. (Don't they look heart-broken to see me go?)

